4Schools applications work with a single user accounts database allowing an individual user to log in once and have access to all 4Schools applications purchased by the school district. The names of the district owned applications appear in the Apps Picker bar below the school district’s name, and are links to those applications. See arrow below.
School districts having the original Link4Learning will see that application title only until the WebOffice4Schools applications are completed and available. Once the application is complete the district’s data will be migrated to the new application and the Link4Learning name and application will be removed. The user accounts database for Link4Learning remains a separate database and can be maintained only in the Link4Learning application. The single login will provide access to Link4Learning only if the username is identical to the username in the 4Schools Users Database.
The User Database link in the Utility Navigation bar will only be visible if the user logged in has been given permissions to the user database. Assigning these permissions is covered in this forum.
- External Student Info System ID - can be any information desired. If you wish, this ID can be matched to the user's ID within your SIS, but that is not required. This field must be unique.
- First and Last Name fields are required.
- Email, Phone, and Position/Title are not required. The user account may be edited at a later time to add this information.
- Groups - if groups have been created within the 4Schools database, they will be listed in the left hand column. The user can be added to the group by moving the group name(s) over to the right. Note: these groups are not to be confused with CMS4Schools groups.
- User Name is a required field.
- Passwords can be typed in or generated randomly. Select a radio button if you wish to force a new password when the user logs in the first time.
- Check Yes, Email Password if you wish an email to be sent to the user containing their User name/Password. A password must have been entered above.
- Is Active? gives you the ability to create a user and keep them Inactive until a later date and/or make a user Inactive when they leave the district. We recommend Inactivating a User rather than deleting them just in case files or web pages are connected to their account.
- Support Center - if the district uses additional 4School products, they will be listed here and permission to their Support Center is available by checking the box(es).
- Add simply completes the task.
Search for Users
- When nothing is added to the search fields, no group or status selected, all users will be listed in the table format seen at the bottom of the screenshot above. Use the First, Last, or Username fields and/or the Group and Status dropdown lists to filter your search.
- The last drop down, currently showing "Last Name, First Name" will change the sort order of your results.
- Click the Search button to display the results..
- The users matching your search criteria will be displayed. the Last Name, First Name and Username will always display. If your district owns 4Schools applications other than CMS4Schools, their permissions level will display. If there is a link displayed in the Folder Usage column you know that the user has a faculty site in CMS4Schools. The Auto Login link will display when the user has a faculty site and is the best way to log into one of your users sites if they need help with something on their pages. The edit pencil will allow you to edit the user's account. The Delete link will delete the user and all faculty pages associated with that user. We recommend that you inactivate rather than delete a user if there is any content on their faculty pages that you may need at some time in the future. There will always be one user in your list that does not have a Delete link. That user is the super admin who has access to all aspects of 4Schools applications administration.
- Use this link to email the users listed in the table their username, password and link to login to the applications they have permissions to use.
If a user's photo is not available, you can the Default Photo option within the database. The users listed in the 2nd and 3rd rows are displaying a default photo.